Photographing the Hex House

Yesterday, I was priviledged to be the first photographer allowed inside the Rehmeyer house, site of the infamous Hex murder of Nelson Rehmeyer in 1928, in nearly 80 years. Rehmeyer’s great-grandson Rickie Ebaugh, is opening the house for public tours in July, and allowed me an inside look at the home.

Growing up in York County, I’ve heard the myths and mystical tales about Rehmeyer’s murder at the hands of John Blymire. Tales of ghosts and the gates of hell, of the scary happenings in Rehmeyer’s Hollow. I felt honored to be allowed in the home, which for the most part, has been vacant for the past 80 or so years. Mr. Ebaugh permitted me to shoot a video interview in front of a portrait of his great-grandfather and a clock, which hangs on the wall, it’s hands locked in place at 12:01, the precise time that Nelson was murdered.

I know that all the “ghost hunter” fans out there will want to know if I saw any ghosts or other spooky things. What I saw was the home of a man who lived simply, family photos hanging on the walls and his gun and pocket watch sitting on his writing table. I photographed the hole in the kitchen floor, where Rehmeyer’s body burned through after being set ablaze by Blymire. All in all, a very interesting look into the life and death of a mis-understood man.

Oh, the front door did swing wide open as we approached to enter. And, while alone in the kitchen, the cupboard doors swung open on their own. After shooting the first several minutes of video, I remembered the stories of how photographic and video equipment sometimes fail in the presence of the supernatural, so I rewound the tape to make sure I was recording. Have to say, other than the opening doors, nothing out of the ordinary happened during my brief time inside the Rehmeyer house.

I would suggest that when the home opens to tours, if you have any interest in the life, death and story of Nelson Rehmeyer, make a weekend trip down to Rehmeyer’s Hollow.

Click one of the photos above to see the video tour of the Rehmeyer house.

2 thoughts on “Photographing the Hex House

  1. I was there at 8 pm at night apparently the same day that he was murdered. I was with some of my friends. Two of my friends went to the grave which is down a trail in his backyard. all together;however, it was really freaky. You can tottally get lost down in some of the roads down there near his house. The house in general sends chills up your back

Leave a Reply

